You have questions regarding the project AAA/SWITCH and its results? We'll be pleased to help you. 


AAA/SWITCH was finished in April 2013, but you will find some news about projects and articles in the news section.
Two bridging projects to grant the sustainability of results were approved end of 2012 and finished in April 2014:


AAA/SWITCH Project Competititon Evaluation Committee (PWEG)

Role of the PWEG:

The Project Competition Evaluation Committee (in German Projectwettbewerbs-Evaluations Gremium [PWEG]) has evaluated all the projects that have been submitted to the AAA/SWITCH competitive bid. The PWEG has not decided on whether a project was funded or not. It rather made a recommendation towards the CRUS/SUC, ETH Council and KFH, which projects should be funded.

More information about the PWEG can be found in the PWEG guidelines [ German ] [ French ]

Composition of the PWEG

The members of the PWEG (in alphabetical order):

  • Alexander Godknecht, University Zurich
  • Christoph Graf, SWITCH
  • Urs Gröhbiel, University of Applied Sciences of Northwestern Switzerland
  • Ulrich Gysel, Zurich University of Applied Sciences
  • Jürgen Harms, Professor emeritus (formerly University of Geneva)
  • Gerhard Hassenstein, University of Applied Sciences of Berne
  • Hans Hinterberger, Federal Institute of Technology of Zurich
  • Pascal Jacot-Guillarmod, University of Lausanne
  • Pierre Mellier, Federal Institute of Technology of Lausanne

Please do not contact the members of the PWEG directly and note that all questions regarding AAA/SWITCH should be directed to Christoph Witzig


Former contact persons at participating institutions

Organization   Contact Person
Cantonal Universities   Email
Università della Svizzera italiana USI Mario Gay
Universität Basel UNIBAS Michael Bruewer, Dieter Glatz
Universität Bern UNIBE Beatrice Hirschi
Université de Fribourg UNIFR Monique Bersier
Université de Genève UNIGE Pierre-Yves Burgi
Université de Lausanne UNIL Alexandre Roy
Universität Luzern UNILU Marco Antonini
Université de Neuchâtel UNINE Antoine Jacot-Descombes
Universität St. Gallen UNISG Christoph Baumgarten
Universität Zürich UZH Alexander Godknecht
ETH Domain    
Ecole Polytechnique Fédérale de Lausanne EPFL Pierre Mellier
Eidgenössische Technische Hochschule Zürich ETHZ Roland Dietlicher
Swiss National Supercomputing Centre CSCS Luc Corbeil
Eidgenössische Anstalt für Wasserversorgung, Abwasserreinigung und Gewässerschutz EAWAG Gabriel Piepke
Eidg. Materialprüfungs- und Forschungs-Anstalt EMPA Christoph Bucher
Paul Scherrer Institute PSI Stephan Egli
Eidg. Forschungsanstalt für Wald, Schnee und Landschaft WSL Dieter Jost
Universities of Applied Sciences    
Berner Fachhochschule BFH Jürg Flückiger
Fachhochschule Nordwestschweiz FHNW Niklaus Lang
Fachhochschule Ostschweiz FHO Hansueli Heeb
Haute Ecole Spécialisée de Suisse occidentale HES-SO Vincent Moser
Fachhochschule Zentralschweiz (Hochschule Luzern) FHZ (HSLU) Armin Wehinger
Scuola Universitaria Professionale della Svizzera Italiana SUPSI Mario Gay
Zürcher Fachhochschule ZFH Marie Therese Wieser
(formerly Mathias Schmid)